New Proposed Legislation Would Expand Safe Haven LawMarch 7, 2012
If new legislation passes, it would allow parents more time to decide if they want to surrender their baby to the state without fear of punishment.
Rep. Kevin McManus, D- Kansas City, has proposed legislation giving parents up to 60 days to surrender a newborn. Currently, Missouri state law allows a parent to leave their child at a hospital, fire station or police station within five days of birth.
The law was created to give parents an option instead of abandoning their child in unsafe conditions if they were overwhelmed and didn’t feel they could care for the infant.
In February, an infant was found abandoned in Ellisville wrapped in a towel beneath a tree. The 9-year-old mother is now facing two felonies for leaving the baby boy. He is currently in custody with the state of Missouri.
If you or a loved one are considering placing a child up for adoption, you may need to discuss your case with a Missouri family lawyer so you better understand your options. Call our office today for a free, initial consultation.